Blog of the Year 2012

Look what my friend Melody at The Donkey Whisperer passed on to me! You all know I love getting these little awards, and I thank Melody for remembering my blog when she set about nominating blogs she likes. Thanks, Melody!! Melody was in a terrible accident that ripped her poor body apart, and she deals with chronic pain every single day. Please visit her blog. She’s clever, funny, and most importantly, honest about how she is feeling and what she is learning about life. I enjoy her little corner of blogosphere and I know you will too!

I believe the first thing I’m supposed to do is to say why I started blogging and how it has helped me. Well, it started out that I found out my sister, who I haven’t had any contact with in several years, was blogging, and when I read hers, I thought it was a good idea and I wanted to create my own to write stuff my kids would like to read later on. I didn’t like hers, frankly, but I figured I’d just do mine differently.

But, it quickly took on a life of its own, as my husband’s addiction left me alone a lot, locked in my bedroom with just a television and a laptop. It became a diversion from my train-wrecked life, and I made a ton of really good friends on it that have held my hand through this major change in my life. Anymore, this little blog has some power to make me calm down by writing out my thoughts and feelings, plus the added bonus of be a great medium to receive advice and encouragement. Frankly, this is the most fun I’ve been having in a year!

So, on with the nominations. But first, the rules.

Here is instructions for the Blog Of The Year 2012   As you can see there is one gold star with the possibility of six in total. The ‘rules’ for this award are simple:

1 Select the blog(s) you think deserve the ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award

2 Write a blog post and tell us about the blog(s) you have chosen – there’s no minimum or maximum number of blogs required – and ‘present’ them with their award.

3 Please include a link back to this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award – http://thethoughtpalette.co.uk/our-awards/blog-of-the-year-2012-award/   and include these ‘rules’ in your post (please don’t alter the rules or the badges!)

4 Let the blog(s) you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the ‘rules’ with them

5 You can now also join our Facebook group – click ‘like’ on this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award Facebook group and then you can share your blog with an even wider audience

6 As a winner of the award – please add a link back to the blog that presented you with the award – and then proudly display the award on your blog and sidebar … and start collecting stars… 6 stars image

Yes – that’s right – there are stars to collect! Unlike other awards which you can only add to your blog once – this award is different! When you begin you will receive the ‘1 star’ award – and every time you are given the award by another blog – you can add another star! There are a total of 6 stars to collect. Which means that you can check out your favourite blogs – and even if they have already been given the award by someone else – you can still bestow it on them again and help them to reach the maximum 6 stars!

My Nominations – These are some of my very favorite blogs, although by no means all of them. Please check them out. You won’t be disappointed!

Victoria Visits

Confessions of an Apple Junkie – Incidentally, the only kind of junkie I want to be around these days. 🙂

The Spiritual Abuse Sanctuary

Deenakdrowaln

Terry1954

Ed’s Christian World

Inner Angels and Enemies

Like I said, this isn’t an exhaustive list, but it is a good start. Thank you again, Melody!

Love,

Bird

17 responses to “Blog of the Year 2012”

  1. Bird, what happened to my last reply; it was sort of ‘tongue in cheeck’ witty. Where’ve you been? I think the problem is YOU’VE been here, but I’ve not. Thin is, iI’ve not seen your blogs in my e-mail; am taking an internet marketing class on-line and there are just about enough hours in the day to zip though my e-mail and hope that I don’t miss things.

    Last I knew, Chef was in the ‘process’ of being forgiven and life was beginning to go your way. Please tel me your secret.

    Just out o curiosity, do my LUPUS posts come to your e-mail? Reason I ask is that I changed servers and in the process, I think I may have lost a ffew followers. If you don’t get posts from lupus chronicles.com, could you please try signing up again (http://lupuschronicles.com).

    What a bird and what a story teller

    Like

    • I haven’t gotten anything from your site in awhile! I left Chef about 3 months ago, so you missed the roller coaster I’ve been on…lol! Consider yourself lucky!!! I’ll go back and sign up again. It’s good to hear from you!

      Like

      • Bird, Im just finding these again! Can I ask, was Chef unfaithful again? Whatever. I don’t need an answer, but you’ve been on that roller coaster for the better part of a year and I so hope things are doing a New Year’s slow-down.

        I’ve been trying to get some stuff work in a different format on my blog, because I’ve got a deal with another guy for free hosting and a b unch of other freebies that I can use. (Do you understand a BIT of that????) I so hope you’re well, Bird,

        Annie

        Like

  2. Bird, first of all, no one deserves this award more than you! Congratulations!!!!! You were always my first, my friend. Although you are going through your own drama, you have continued to keep reading my blogs.
    Thank you so much for this honor. It is truly an award I will always treasure………

    Like

    • I’ve fallen woefully behind on keeping up with everyone’s blogs, but I’m trying to catch up. Thanks for the sweet compliment! I like that I “discovered” you…lol!

      Like

  3. Congratulations Bird! You deserve all the accolades the Blogosphere can dish out. I am blown away by your nomination of Inner Angels & Enemies, especially as yours is one of those blogs I look at with such awe, hoping that one day my little blog may inspire even half as many as yours does. It is because your blog is so refreshingly honest, moving and humorous in the cleverest of ways. I am honoured beyond words. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for including me in your list. Many Blessings to you, Sweet Sister! 😀

    Like

  4. What better way to leave this year behind with a positive note and look forward to a new start in the new year infact I think the girls should take you in hand and give you a pamper and make over for christmas (you don’t need anything draastic as you are already gorgeous) but more symbolic of your new life

    Like

  5. I want to thank you for nominating my new friend Terry because it gave me a chance to read her award and read your blog. I feel God gently guides us to where we are to go and introduces us to people we are to meet. Some may be forever friends and other friends that come and go out of our life and leaving an impact by sharing God’s blessings. I am not sure where we will fall into that category, but I know it was no accident I am here today writing to you. I am an adult child of an alcoholic and have finally stopped running from it. We are all hurting either physical or emotionally and need others to encourage and uplift us. I hope to offer you God’s love and just from what I have read I know God will be working through you in my life. And yes, congratulations on your award may you receive all the gold stars your blog can hold!
    Blessings – Patty

    Like

  6. Thank you so much for the nomination (that I don’t even think I deserve!)..and congratulations to all the other nominees 🙂
    I shall attend to it later this week (hopefully!)
    P.S. I’m glad I’m the only Junkie in your life..I’m a jealous one at that too!! 😉
    x

    Like

Feel free to leave a comment.